A glimpse of God’s calling for my life…

My heart is so full of joy!! So much has happened in the past few weeks that gives me reason to be joyful. I have always known that the Lord will give us blessings when we walk in obedience, but more than ever before I am seeing that happen in Daniel and my life.

I love love LOVE our new church family here in Houston. We have been embraced by them and are being challenged by the Lord in a new way that we have never experienced before. Apart and together as a couple. A big passion for Mission 24 (the name of our church) is prophesy, something that I have never really experienced, not that I haven’t witnessed or been around it, but actually embracing the gift of prophesy. Until I recently heard a sermon that let me see it in a whole new light. Acts 2:17-18. “In the last days, God says, I will pour out my spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophesy.” And all throughout, the Bible talks about how important this gift is. It makes me so uncomfortable to think about prophesying over someone’s life that I have never met, and I struggle with the fear that I might get it wrong, but at the same time I know that the Lord is calling me to this and He WILL use me to speak to others through this gift. Mission 24 has a huge children’s ministry for the amount of people who attend and it excites me to see that they are raising their children to know what prophesying is. I feel like in many children’s ministries the lessons are very basic and focus on teaching Bible stories, and don’t get me wrong, there is definitely a place for that, but at the same time how do we expect our children to surpass us spiritually if we don’t teach on deeper things of the Lord. About spiritual gifts, and prayer, and worship, and even tithing. Not only teach these things, but challenge them to do  them and do them as a family. I want my children to learn by the example that my life portrays. Last week each child chose a person they felt that the Lord was speaking to them about, and they each wrote a note to those people prophesying over them. It was so so cool to see the faces on those people who received the notes. A few cried because of how spot on it was for them. For me I loved being reminded of the child like faith we should have. Words that were so simple, yet had so much truth. I look forward to raising my children in a church that will challenge them to deeply seek the Lord.

I am super excited to announce that I have officially been offered a job at Texas Children’s Hospital!!! If I could describe my dream job, this would be it. I will not only be working in orthopedics, which when I worked in San Angelo I found a deep love for, but I will primarily be working with pediatric patients. My passions in life revolve around children; being a mother, ministering to teenage girls, and working as a nurse with children. The Lord has given me a spirit of compassion, that often makes me super emotional and causes me to take the burdens of others upon myself, but it also allows me to love people in a way that I can’t really describe. A few years ago I asked the Lord to let me see things through His eyes and love as He loves; and although I don’t think I have experienced even close to that (I don’t think I could handle it) I do know that He has softened my heart to love in a new way, no matter what it looks like to others and even when its inconvenient. I know that there will be days that this job will be emotional for me and I will have to step back for a second to see that God has a purpose for everything, but I cannot wait for God to use me to be a light in dark places. This IS my ministry.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a comment